Breakfast of Champions

14 Jun

Well, I didn’t get up to go to Body Pump this morning…I snoozed.  I actually got out of bed three times to turn off and reset my alarm.  Obviously I could have gotten up, but I didn’t.  I plan on making it up by working out when I am off work.

What I did do what have a breakfast of champions.  I go through breakfast favorites, and right now it is oatmeal.  I start with this as a base.  It is very simple, not full of sugar, and easy to make at my desk.  I add banana slices, or some kind of fruit,  and nut butter(today was almond butter).  Today though, I took it one step further.  Michael made these double chocolate chip muffins last night- I helped to healthify them by swapping out the oil for applesauce.  I decided that it was 100% appropriate to take one of those and crumble it into my oatmeal.

Behold (and apologies for crummy phone picture quality):

Better than Wheaties...I promise!

Seriously – delicious! The chocolate chips got melty and yummy.  And who doesn’t love chocolate, almond butter and banana together?! Work time – I’ll be back later with a delicious dinner recipe and a workout recap.

2 Responses to “Breakfast of Champions”

  1. Julia June 14, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Don’t know why, but this just made me miss tater tots from the cafeteria… Have you had them yet? They’re awesome with ketchup and a tiny bit of sriracha sauce. Plus they give you a ton for $1.50 so you can share with your team. Good call on the muffin, btw, looks delicious!

    • apieceofkelsey June 14, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      I can tell you why it reminded you of the cafeteria…because it is in one of the humongous bowls that literally make my breakfast every day look like a teeny tiny snack!!

Leave a Reply

