You Eat That?

17 Jun

Good morning!  I am proud to say that I got up and went to the gym this morning.  Let’s just say, my workout plan this week didn’t, well, as planned.  But, I feel like I made up for it today with a nice sweaty workout this morning!

I started off on the treadmill and it went something like this:

2.5 minute warm up at 4.0 mph

.2 miles at 7.5 or 8.0 mph

.1 mile at 4.0 mph

(continue to alternate between .2 miles at a run and .1 miles at recover)

I went for a total of 21 minutes and covered 2 miles.  Not bad and it definitely got my heart rate up!  My focus this morning was more on strength training, which is why I did abbreviated cardio.

I have a habit of tearing workouts, looks, etc from magazines then keeping them in a pile.  I pulled a workout from the pile last night to complete this morning.  I found a link to it online – and go figure, it is from the lovely girls at Tone It Up.  Here is the workout (I completed it 2 times all the way through doing their recommended number of reps).  I was pretty sweaty at the end, and basically looked like this:

https://apieceofkelsey.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/marisa-miller-bikini-sweaty-smaller.jpg?w=189

Ha! Yah right…well, one day. Sidenote – do not Google the term “sweaty girl” because you will get some not-so-good images.

After the gym, we took Delilah on her morning walk, came home and got ready, then I made a tasty breakfast smoothie before heading to work.  Now, Michael thinks these are absolutely gross (he hasn’t had one so he is going on looks along, which I can understand) but they are actually really tasty and super healthy!  The Green Monster smoothie is an epidemic in the heathy living blog world, and here is my favorite version:

1 cup milk

1 banana (frozen makes it super creamy)

1/2 to 3/4 cup blueberries (I use frozen)

2 packets of Splenda

2 big handfuls of spinach (I put mine in the microwave for 30 seconds the night before to wilt it and then cool it down overnight)

Put it all in the blender and obviously – blend until smooth and creamy!

Here is a poor quality picture that doesn’t look too appealing

But, I will be honest, unless you add a ton of blueberries, it comes out looking greenish purple.  BUT, please make it once, try it and tell me what you think!!  You can’t taste the spinach, I promise!!  Happy Friday!!

 

 

Leave a comment