Even if you don’t want to, do it

23 Jun

There really is truth behind the idea that even when you don’t feel like doing something you know that you should, if you make yourself do it, you feel great about it at the end.  Most of the time, I feel like this applies to a workout.  I was planning on getting up early yesterday morning to check off my work out for the day.  Well, the snooze button won that battle.  I wasn’t even tired, necessarily.  I just wanted to stay in bed.

When I work out first thing in the morning, it is great to go through the day knowing that I have already gotten in my workout.  All day yesterday, I kept telling myself that I would go for a run when I got off work.  It was so nice outside and I knew that I would feel great once I completed it.  Well, let’s just say that I wasn’t jumping at the opportunity to hit the pavement.

I made myself change into workout gear right when I got home, took Delilah out for a walk, then came back, grabbed my headphones and went outside.  Instead of my normal route, I decided to tackle the hills by my house.  I mean, I live in SF after all!  I told myself that I could alternate between walking and running on the inclines and to go until I felt like I wanted to turn around.

I ended up coming a little over 2 miles of intense inclines and, no surprise, I felt great after.  Just like I knew I would.  Now, if I can just make sure my mind remembers this when my alarm goes off first thing in the morning so I don’t have to motivate myself all day long…

Leave a Reply

