Recipe Challenge – Caprese Pasta

24 Jun

Hey there! I’ve got a new recipe from my weekly challenge with Brooke.  This week I chose a recipe I have actually made before that I found from Jessica at How Sweet It Is.  The first time I saw this recipe, I knew that I would have to make it and that it would be a hit.  I also knew that I would make some adjustments so that I would not have to buy ingredients that I don’t normally.

I know present, the recipe of the week!

Not as Creamy, but Just as Tasty Caprese Pasta, adapted from Creamy Caprese Pasta

serves 4-6 (or two people with some leftovers for lunch…)

1 box pasta (I used Cavatappi)
2 cups of pasta sauce (jarred is just fine)
1/3 cup non fat milk
1/4 cup 0% Greek yogurt
1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese for garnish
8 ounces mozzarella, cut into cubes ( I didn’t use fresh, but I did last time and it was much cheesier)
1 pint of grape tomatoes (I cut them al in half and used yellow sunburst ones this time – they were on sale)
1 bunch of fresh basil leaves (just roll them up and cut them in ribbons)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Boil water and cook pasta according to directions.

While pasta is cooking, heat tomato sauce over low heat in a large saucepan. Once warm, stir in non fat milk and greek yogurt. Once pasta is done cooking, drain and dump into the sauce, mixing to coat and turning off heat. Fold in mozzarella cubes and tomatoes, then chop 1/2 of the basil bunch and add them in too. Once combined, spray a baking dish with non-stick spray and pour the entire pasta mixture into the dish. Top with grated mozzarella. Bake for 25 minutes, or until cheese is golden and bubbly.

Top with additional fresh basil and grated cheese.

Serve yourself a huge bowl, and be ready to go back for seconds…

This recipe is so good!  It is super cheesy and makes great leftovers.

I also sent Brooke a recipe for Taco Pasta salad, but I got home late one night and Michael made it – so….there aren’t any pictures.  I guess it just means I will have to make it again because it is too good not to share.  I am sure he won’t complain!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

