Weekday Lunch

26 Jun

For my lunches during the week, I typically will either take leftovers, make a salad the night before, or make a batch of something on Sunday and then eat that throughout the week.  The best part is that I take the time to do all the prep only once, and most of the assembly depending on what it is, and then I can enjoy it through the week.

Today at the grocery store, there was a great sale on cucumbers (2 for $1) and vine ripe tomatoes (99 cents/lb), so I decided to incorporate that as part of my lunch.  I chopped up 4 cucumbers, and 4 tomatoes, as well as 1/2 of a red onion to create a simple salad to use as a base for my lunch.  I also made a vinaigrette of red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, garlic powder and extra virgin olive oil that was poured over it for added flavor.  This will also get more flavorful as it sits and marinades.  Bonus!!

I will most likely pair this with tofu that I am marinating right now, leftovers from dinner or some other snacks to create a complete lunch.  I just love going into the week knowing that I have something healthy ready for me to eat in the fridge.  I think that this is half of the battle to make sure that you are incorporating fruits and veggies into each meal.  I often cut up celery, carrots, and other veggies that I can grab and go throughout the week as well.  I can also chop them up further when I want to add them into a salad.

Now to enjoy what is left of Sunday 🙂

Leave a Reply

