New Recipe of the Week!

7 Jun

I am always looking for new dinners to make and change things up so that we aren’t always eating turkey tacos, stir fry or pasta.  I came across this recipe for lightened up Chicken Tikka Masala and thought it looked pretty tasty.  I’ve actually never been to an Indian restaurant – but Michael is a big fan and Chicken Tikka Masala is what he always orders.  I figured I had nothing to lose (as long as I didn’t mess up the recipe ) and made it last night for dinner.

 

I followed her recipe pretty exact – except I used olive oil instead of canola oil or butter, and I think I used a bit more greek yogurt because I had a Dannon greek yogurt single serve that was on sale at the store this week.  It was a pretty simple meal, and I served it over white rice and topped with cilantro.

dinner is served!

I picked up some masala naan at Trader Joe’s yesterday to go with the meal and I will say, I think it was a pretty good first Indian food experience!  I think the funniest past was that I had to ask Michael if it really tasted good since I did not have anything to compare it to!  H gave me the thumbs up, and went back for seconds, so I would call that a successful new recipe to add to my repertoire.

Have you made any new recipes lately? Please share!!

 

2 Responses to “New Recipe of the Week!”

  1. Julia June 7, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    This is so good to know – I flagged this the other day but was skeptical that it could possibly be as good as restaurant tikka masala, which I’m assuming they use A LOT of cream to make. Yay for new recipes!

    I’ve made this casserole a few times now and Chris and I both love it… http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/chicken-tamale-casserole-10000001854020/

    • kelseyknight1 June 8, 2011 at 8:17 am #

      It was really good! And I figure that using Greek yogurt instead of cream is healthier AND provides extra protein 😉

Leave a comment